The Sun is missing from this Sunday.  It's Day 11 of uninterrupted rain and clouds.

Every morning, I visit my Tower Garden and every morning, I discover new growth! Even with the absence of direct sunlight, things are happening. The tomatoes are especially active, and this brings me to a quandary.

To Prune or Not...?

With dirt farming, the standard procedure is to snip the suckers that branch off from the main tomato plant stems to encourage robust growth. I am not sure if this standard carries over to hydroponic farming. But I'm finding bud development on the suckers! I've come to the conclusion that there is plenty enough circulating nutrients to feed the suckers. So I'm snipping conservatively. My focus is to prevent rampant growth that might interfere with productivity. I'm also clipping where I see heavy overlap to prevent any rotting leaves.

Quandary solved.



Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.